Two Wheeled Adventure and Outdoor Photographer

Yellow trillium & wild blue phlox, Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN/NC

This is another photograph that I took while shooting in the Park last Thursday and Friday. It was a great couple of days!

I composed this photo with my TS-E 90mm in mind. I hate wildflower photos that are shot straight down on a subject to get max DOF. The tilt feature of the 90mm, and it’s ability to focus to 1-foot without filters or extension tubes, made it the perfect lens for this setup. I was able to shoot across the scene with lots of tilt at f/18 instead of the normal smallest f-stop of f/32, and maintain maximum sharpness. This is another image that is super-sharp! The TS-E 90mm is one of the sharpest lenses that Canon makes!

 Update: I just made a 17″ x 25″ print of this image and I have to say, it is beautiful! The details are amazing! I really believe that Genuine Fractals is allowing me to make images from the 5D equal to drum scanned 6x7cm transparencies with a definite added advantage of the 5D’s ability to capture such a wide dynamic range. I can’t wait for the new 5D to be released!  This is a great time to be a photographer!

5 responses

  1. Beautiful photo Jerry, I’m looking forward to many more!

    Great job with the blog!

    Ron

    04/16/2008 at 3:45 AM

  2. Hey Jerry,

    I view NPN regularly but don’t post much anywhere on the web, except at my own blog @ http://www.chriskaylerphotography.com/blog. I would love if you could come check it out some time. I photograph all of nature, but have gotten into landscapes quite a bit over the last year.

    Anyways, I’ve been a big fan of your work and I’m psyched you’ve got a blog up and running now – you better believe I’ll be here frequently.

    Oh, the shot is just killer! Amazing color combo.

    04/16/2008 at 1:13 AM

  3. I absolutely love this shot. The complimentary colors work so well together, and I love the mix of big and little blooms. Killer shot Jerry!

    04/16/2008 at 12:54 AM

  4. Beautiful closeup Jerry!

    Lovely colors. . .

    04/15/2008 at 4:55 PM

  5. Guy

    This is just stunning, Jerry!

    Guy

    04/15/2008 at 1:02 AM

Leave a Reply

