Two Wheeled Adventure and Outdoor Photographer

Woodall Shoals, Chattooga National Wild & Scenic River, SC & GA

I’ve just returned from a wonderful trip to the mountains of North Georgia and South Carolina. I’ll update this post later tonight or tomorrow morning but I wanted to post one of many images that I took on this trip. This one was from this morning along the Chattooga River. Let me know what you guys and gals think! I have to say, this was a beautiful morning along the River!

Updated Post:  Just a note, for all that do not really know my work. I’m an environmental and nature photographer. I’m not trying to or make it my life’s work to find the perfect photo. I’m trying to accurately portray the environment that I photograph in as close to reality as “I” see it. Yes, I do work the image with an artful eye but, for the most part, the photo is about the moment and the subject that I’m connected to at that time. This scene was captured at 8:39am. I waited for the morning sun to illuminate the background trees, knowing that this would give me that wonderful green that I desire for my photos. I also felt that this would help balance the perfect reflection in the rain pool. This is the result of a strong morning sun from a cloudless blue sky. This is the exact scene that I wanted to capture. When I look at this photo I feel as though I’m still standing there on the Shoal. I can remember having to squint when I looked up from the camera toward those sun-drenched trees. Man, I want to go back!

 

Thanks all for commenting!

 

Canon EOS 5D, TS-E 24mm (fall w/ slight tilt), polarizer, ISO 100, f/11 @ 1/6sec

 

RAW processed with CaptureOne Pro & Adobe PhotoShop CS3 Extended

2 responses

  1. Very nice perspective Jerry. The reflection tips this one over the top. Well seen and captured. Spent Tuesday evening w/ Ian trying to shoot the Horseshoe Crab spawning, but the light and weather were less than ideal. Oh well. Win some – lose some! Off to Shenandoah for the location workshop and its sure to a scorcher for the next few days.

    Keep up the good work, Joe.

    06/06/2008 at 11:53 AM

  2. richardbernabe

    Don’t ya know this river don’t go to Aintry?

    Seriously, this is super sweet! Not what I was expecting, but what a pleasant surprise. Ya gotta love that place.

    06/06/2008 at 1:06 AM

Leave a Reply

